Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2001-11-29 - 9:29 a.m.

Dear World,

In case you have missed her, I'd like to introduce you all to Susan. You can call her a couple of things, Susan (she doesn't like Sue...I think that's why her sister calls her that...), Tonwen, Tonton (she's used to it now, I think...), soon I'll call her my wife. She's short, and one of the most beautiful people I've ever met. But she is definitely short.

Susan and I started dating a year ago today, and in that year a lot has happened. Susan got her appendix out, and I stayed with her for her first week and a half of surgery. Not long after that, I lost my job, and Susan kept me sane for the three weeks it took to find a new one. I don't know if I've ever explained to her how much it meant to me that she was there for me, but it's one of the things that defines our relationship. When I needed her most, she was there, unfailing, unwavering and ever trusting.

We got engaged in July...the 26th, I think. I had decided to propose to her, and was planning to do it in Scotland. I had always wondered how I would know that I was ready to be married, but I knew. I was completely sure, so when we were casually discussing marriage (no, seriously...it was one of those play conversations couples have sometimes...it just got out of hand), she asked when I would like to get married. I told her exactly when, and that's how we got engaged. I know, I suck...but to me it says I was completely ready...absolutely no reservations.

We went to Scotland, and I yelled at her in the car. I think it was the first time I've ever raised my voice to her...it wasn't loud really, just what I said, I said in a mean voice. That night we talked for a while...I felt horrible that I had done that, and wanted to explain why I was so frustrated. During the conversation I told her "You are absolutely everything to me, nothing in this world comes before you." It's the truth, and always will be.

In between all these events, we've grown as a couple. I've learned about her, and she's learned about me. We have differences, some of which are at odds with each other, but we're learning to work around them. I'm even trying to not put laundry on the floor, and put it in the hamper. It's a slow process, but it's going forward.

Throughout all of this, I've learned that Susan is an incredible person. She's strong, sure of herself and conservative. *cough*square*cough* But I've also learned she's soft, cuddly and a wonderfully talented woman. Basically, I've learned that I'm the luckiest man in the world.

Thank you, Susan. I love you.

Matt

previous - next