Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2002-03-21 - 8:10 a.m.

IT'S MORNING TIME!!!!!!!!!!!

W0000000000000000TTTTTTTTTTTTTTT. The little banner above the entry window says "MOONCRACK"...ok get that image in your head, because it has a short little subtitle that says SNORT THE MOONCRACK.

A couple of things here, before I really get going...first...Crack is almost exclusively smoked...there is a reason there are crack pipes out there. Second, I don't care HOW GOOD the crack is...I ain't snortin' nothing called MOONCRACK. I wouldn't snort my own mooncrack, I sure aint' snortin' nobody elses.

OK...wow...um...yeah...where's my Red Bull??? There it is...OK.

Now. I have 15 empty red bull cans in a drawer. I've decided I'm going to make a mobile. My aspirations were humble enough...I was going to get a couple of sticks, and make a mobile that any 3rd grader would be proud of. Of course then Bob says "You should make it look like a Bull, a mobile has to have a theme!" Damn. Now I'll never be a happy 3rd grader. Guess I have to drink more red bull. I think I'll model it with wire hangers and then attach red bull can's to it. I'll submit it at next years Kingdom A&S Festival.

Other A&Sish things I'm working on. Bob and Laura were gracious enough to loan me a fiddle so I could take lessons. Ouch. I think of all the musical things I've ever done, Fiddle is the hardest. I've always thought the violin was the most expressive of instruments...but my God its hard to play. I'm still working on it. My teacher says I'm moving very fast, but I'm not very patient. The thing can sound so sweet...but my god it can sound awful. And it's worse when I'm working on a new song...bless Susan for not making me eat it.

I'm also obsessing over this acoustic bass guitar I saw at Bill's music store. I want it. I really do, I want to get it and work with Bob and come up with some cool little riffs to play when we're bored. I also want to do the same with the fiddle too, with Bob on guitar, and laura on penny whistle and Susan on triangle and Q on bodhran. Will be fun! But probably a year or so away.

Then there is the Thursday night group. It really is the embodiment of the reason I don't sing with the baronial group. Music should be fun and entertaining. The music we do is, at least to us...hopefully whatever set of poor bastards have to lisen to us will enjoy themselves too.

It is the same reason I quit singing with the Baltimore Symphony...it just wasn't fun. It was crappy ass stuck up music...and I'm a lot of things, but I'm not stuck up. Now a jam session...that's fun...just hanging out with friends makin' music. That's music...that's what I want to be able to do...pick up the guitar, pick up the fiddle and just have fun in Bob and Laura's new house.

Well...that's enough for now...a little morning low-order rant...sweet. Oh, and stay off the mooncrack.

Kenny

previous - next