Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2002-04-02 - 8:43 a.m.

There is a difference between Susan and I. Last night, the difference was $3.24.

I won't spoil Tara's surprise, but we had to meet her at Michael's pub. We got there, and Tara picked the table back in the little nookie-hole. Nice, private, reasonably secluded. However, our waitress seemed like she wasn't exactly focused on our needs. I tend to put away the ice-tea, and she never showed up unless she was bringing food, or the check. I actually had to ask another waiter (twice, I think) for tea.

So then we're done with dinner. My plate disappears, still full of fries and half a hamburger...(no, I didn't want a box...but it's nice to at least ask). So the check arrives, I realize I have no cash, so Susan put it on plastic.

Total bill (fuzzy memory, but for kicks...) $32.40.

OK...that's fine. We wait. Lalala. Hey have I told you the bear joke? Oh, how about the pig joke? Yeah? What about the sheep joke? I've told you all of them? Damn! Where is the waitress. Lalala...JESUS CHRIST! I'll find her.

I grab the bill, the credit card...wander around. Oh, there she is! Oh, she's busy...PLAYING FUCKING FOOSBALL.

EXCUSE ME...IF IT'S NOT TOO MUCH TROUBLE COULD YOU RING THIS THROUGH PLEASE.

So then Susan has to figure out what to leave as a tip.

My suggestion.

Sub-Total: $32.40
Tip: Hope you're a proffesional Foosball Player.
Total: $32.40

Her decision:

Sub-Total: $32.40
Tip: $3.24
Total: $35.64

She's much more tolerant than I am. Oh well...whatcha gonna do?

i'm out

previous - next