Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2002-04-03 - 8:36 a.m.

At what point did I become cynical old SCA-monkey?

It was bound to happen...and there are several reasons. Perhaps the most important reason is my natural tendency towards cynicism. The other, just as unavoidable reason is this, people are fucking morons. Worse than that some are assholes, and a few, very special people are morons and assholes.

Why is this second point so important? Because the SCA is made up of people, and thus is also made up of (though, thankfully, not exclusively) morons, assholes and assmoronholes. What keeps us from spiraling down into a psychosis of hateful spite with no bounds, where the very sight of heralds and stick-jocks with no other redeeming qualities causes you to bleed out of your eye sockets?

Often...nothing. Sometimes you just have to bleed out of your eyes. Seriously. I'm having one of those bleed out your eyes, can't see the dream for all the assmoronholes in your way kind of week with the SCA.

But, on a good day, you can gain a sense of scale. If I had come into the SCA had to deal with the entire society, I would have left. I would have said to myself "Fuck the SCA in its ear. I don't need to bleed out my eyes for this shit." But I came in to a scaled down little miniature SCA...Lochmere. In Lochmere there are cool people (in all honesty, read as, people I like), there are OK people (people I can tolerate long enough to get through an event) and people I hate (those special people that I feel would look better soaking in a bath of bio-disintegrating green bubbling liquid.) But the numbers are so small, that it really doesn't matter.

Now...expand that to the entire Kingdom. There is an entire Kingdom of heralds, egomaniacal knights, snooty laurels, and pesky Pelicans. Of course there are asshole rapier fighters, moronic members of the general populace, a parade of idiots willing to do anything for a peerage. At this level...I can't see the flowers for the stink bushes. Look at all of these idiots.

Of course for every idiot there is a wise Laurel, a noble Duke, a Pelican working tirelessly, a soft spoken but courteous duchess, a newbie with a bright light in his eye, a rapier fighter that finally gets it. There ARE good people in the SCA.

But some days its really hard to find them.

Thus the click. Do I need someone with a sane view of Kingdom politics? Alan. Do I need to be reminded to be nice to people even when I want to drop kick into a pile of molten heraldic underwear? Bob. Do I need someone to show me the cooler side of the SCA, remind me why I joined? Laura. Do I need someone to show me that there is indeed chivalry still? Havordh. Do I need a reminder of how cool it is to learn rapier? Lisette. How about the image of the struggling squire, working hard to serve AND learn? Tristan. The noble warrior, not a knight, but no less chivalrous, no less a weapon of his crowns? Kevin. Hey, I'm too high on my horse, someone knock me off! Harvey (and Laura, and Tara, and Wayne, and Bob and Alan, and Jimmie...etc....etc...etc...)

These people are the stones that counter balance the assholes, morons and assmoronholes. They represent what doesn't suck about the SCA. Both at the level of chivalry, courtesy and service, as well as that of friendship and honor.

So. Today I'm having trouble finding all of my stones. I think I just need to go to a couple of events that I'm not somehow involved in. Coronation doesn't count, neither does the April event. I want to go to an event and just be a slug, a vegi-monkey. It seems like all I'm doing now is watch people stress about a game, and in some case I stress about a game. It's time to go have some fun.

The promised land is coming. The day is fast approaching where the group of us can just go to an event and *gasp* enjoy the event for what it is. That is my goal.

i'm out

p.s. Havordh, if you win this crown, I'll break your legs.

previous - next