Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2002-04-08 - 1:56 p.m.

I think I will study honor in the SCA for a while.

My activities this weekend and late last week neccesitated that I meditate on the subject, and I found my understanding somewhat shakey. Not shakey, but the subject is so complex that it merits additional consideration.

For one, it's a hot button topic. I saw (for the first time) a matter of honor settled on the field. There was something deeply important about how it was handled, and my hat is off to Master Alan (QOC) who marshaled the bout. The manner in which Alan combined his understanding of honor, chivalry and the rules of the list was outstanding.

I got the opportunity to speak with many people about this topic, and it was interesting to have some many reactions. I'm so facinated by the topic that I think I'll approach it from three directions: Period aspects of honor (not the focus of the work), the practical application of honor within the SCA, and the application of honor issues within the legal parameters of the corporate side of the SCA. The other interesting aspect will be how different groups in the SCA approach the topic. By their very nature, I'm sure that each group handles issues differently.

There should be lots of work on this done already, I'll check out the florigium and do some searches. I'll ask people what they think, and come up with my own conclusions. I have no doubt that these conclusions will be completely wrong, but hopefully not as wrong as my understanding is now.

I guess in some respects this is a departure from my mentors. There are about 7 or 8 people who have had a significant impact on my development in the SCA. Most are rapier fighters, many are peers. At some point in the maturation process, you must go and find answers for yourself.

Well...I feel silly even looking at it. Honor is a part of the society that is distinct and different from mundane life. Some take it very seriously, some use it as a weapon, and others really don't pay much attention to it. So my informal study should yield something interesting...

I'll post some stuff here just as a 'notepad' feel free to post to the guestbook and let me know what you think.

Cynwrig

previous - next