Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2002-04-09 - 9:46 a.m.

For those that don't know, I have a fairly long drive home, which is an excellent time to meditate. I also have a long drive to work, but I'm normally asleep during that time. Anyways, I've decided that to start my study of honor, I'd gather up all the words I associate with honor, and then ask Mr. Dictionary what he thinks. This will give a modern view of the words, but I think its a good start.

So, here is my word list: Honor, Chivalry, Courtesy, Grace, Hubris (ala AOD)


hon�or n.
Principled uprightness of character; personal integrity. A code of integrity, dignity, and pride, chiefly among men, that was maintained in some societies, as in feudal Europe, by force of arms.

chiv�al�ry n. pl. chiv�al�ries
The medieval system, principles, and customs of knighthood.
The qualities idealized by knighthood, such as bravery, courtesy, honor, and gallantry toward women.
A manifestation of any of these qualities.
A group of knights or gallant gentlemen.

cour�te�sy n. pl. cour�te�sies
Polite behavior.
A polite gesture or remark.
adj.
Given or done as a polite gesture: paid a courtesy visit to the new neighbors.

grace n.
Seemingly effortless beauty or charm of movement, form, or proportion.
A characteristic or quality pleasing for its charm or refinement.
A sense of fitness or propriety.
A disposition to be generous or helpful; goodwill.
Mercy; clemency.
A favor rendered by one who need not do so; indulgence.

hu�bris n.
Overbearing pride or presumption; arrogance.


AOD�s post echoed a lot of my concerns and thoughts about honor. As a starting point, I think that the part of my character that poses the greatest challenge to me in this regard is my pride. HUBRIS! I think that her point ��once people in the SCA start thinking that *they* have the exclusive book on what's honourable and start to wield those ideas like a bludgeon instead of really listening to and honouring the people around them, they start to screw up� is true.

So let�s look at the word list, and some of the pitfalls that stem from it:

HONOR: Honor seems to be dependent on principles. Here, at the beginning of it all is the first point of conflict. What, within the SCA, are these �principles�? Some of these principles are spelled out�I consider the Rules of the List an excellent starting point for conduct on the field. But many are more nebulous., particularly when you are off the field.

CHIVALRY: Qualities idealized by knighthood. Again the question is�what are those ideals within the SCA?

GRACE: I always lumped grace in with honor, chivalry and courtesy. Mainly as grace under fire concept. The �A sense of fitness or propriety� may be important too�the people that I think of when I think of honor somehow have a sense of �correctness� or �belonging�.

HUBRIS: The dark side. Perhaps this concept is most scary to me because I feel that I am most susceptible to it. Pride is most dangerous because it limits perspective, and my initial feeling is that perspective is the key. An understanding as to what is important and what is less important and what is simply not important would prevent a lot of problems.

So where to go from here? We have modern definitions of some key words, and a couple of concepts that are in the development stage. I think tomorrow we�ll look at principles and codes of conduct. I�ve seen this as a HUGE point of contention, and I�m sure my point of view will be challenged. I invite everyone to post their thoughts, either in my guestbook, or in their diary.


From the Florigium:


From: [email protected] (Ceilene Jakos)

Date: 2 Oct 91 20:28:22 GMT

Organization: DP&W, New York, NY

Chivalry is, was and always will be action rooted in HONOR.
Your every thought, word and deed must be honorable, and your
name must be honored. Your good name is your most prized
possession, and it is the thing which you pass on to your sons
and daughters. It is your reputation and all that is known of
you. To act dishonorably, thereby losing your honor, is a worse
punishment than to lose your life.

Thea


i�m out

cynwrig

previous - next