Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2003-01-22 - 2:40 p.m.

Fealty


I am not under the burden of an oath of fealty to any person. There are, at most, three people in the Known World, not counting our Sovereigns, that I would give my fealty to. I remember when I was asked to be a Squire. I'm eternally grateful that I had the people around me to explain what I needed to know to make my decision. In a rare show of understanding on my part, I turned down the offer, with great respect and with a sincere feeling of humbleness for having been asked.

While I am not in oath to a person, I am under oath:

Free Scholar's Oath

I should, but I don't, read this regularly. I actually had it out as I was putting together a binder full of all the material that I thought I would need as a rapier marshal. The two things that really stand out are "You shall be a loyal subject to our Soverigns" and "You shall be a true Free Scholar".

I think that I do the first almost naturally. I've been lucky enough to be taken in under the wing of a group of ardent royalists, and don't have too much problem with that. Being a "true Free Scholar" is somewhat harder. It's a fairly ghostly concept, even among Free Scholars. I think I'll start using the phrase as a mantra. If I'm going to lose my temper, or feel like just giving up, or whatever, I'll just remember that I'm supposed to be "a true Free Scholar, until the end of my days."

My Understanding of Fealty

But that is different than fealty. Fealty is intensely personal, and somewhat riskier proposition. There is a direct reflection from one to the other. Knowing someone is "T's Squire" seems so much more personal than being a Free Scholar. There are duties and obligations in both, but the source of both are different. A Free Scholar has a responsibility primarily to his group, the Free Scholars, a Squire has responsibility to his Knight.

It is that difference that is why I opened this post with saying that Fealty was a burden. I certainly don't mean this in a disparaging way, but rather in a solemn way. It is a burden of responsibility, one with rewards, but a burden none the less. It is for that reason that it must be entered into with your eyes open, and an understanding of what is being asked for, and what is being returned.

AOD has, on occasion mentioned me apprenticing to her. I have no doubt that when I am ready, when I find something that I feel I can offer to the Kingdom, she will, as she always has been, be there to support me. When I feel that I can hold up my end of the bargain, I will speak with her. But AOD, I want you to know that every time it has been mentioned, I have been flattered, and a little humbled.

Well that's my take, I'll talk to you all later.


Kynnyth

p.s. AOD, AOD-Hubbie, AlanG: Although it is not fealty, know that I hold each of you in the highest regard, and consider you my teachers, mentors and masters both on the rapier field and off, and I am most sincerely grateful for all that each of you has given to me.

previous - next