Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

January 28, 2003 - 13:54

Does anyone ever become who they want to be?

If for nothing else, the SCA seems to provide examples of people, some bad, but many more good. Think for a moment of all the outstanding examples that exist in the SCA. Perhaps it isn't that there are so many more good people in the SCA (on average, than the real world), but that it provides a forum where those attributes can be displayed.

I hesitate to name anyone in particular, but think of each of the people that inspire you in the Society. Would those people have the same chance to inspire you in the real world, is there anyone you know on a day-to-day non-sca that inspires you the way some people in the SCA do? Not me, not someone I can talk to.

Isn't it great to have heroes you can reach out and touch, heroes that you can email, call, maybe even take as mentors? People that you can look at and say, I'd like to have some of their attributes as I grow as a person. Or, more likely, MAN I WISH I COULD DO THAT.

So I was reading over some diarylands, one in particular of someone who probably doesn't even know who I am, and I was struck by the deep respect I have of this person. For the most part it is simply how at peace they seem with themselves, and how that transfers as an incredible respect for other people. It seems to give them the ability to separate their lives into individual blocks, and accept each for what it is.

I guess what I'm getting at is this. Is there a person, slowly typing out measured, considered thoughts, that I will later read in awe and jealousy, who is sitting out there completely at ease with themselves? Or do even they struggle with the demons of humanity, and look to another as their inspiration?

Is there one person, in this entire world, who is who they want to be?

Kynny

previous - next