Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

February 04, 2003 - 08:16

Note:

The post below was supposed to go up yesterday, but it didn't seem appropriate. I read everyone's diary and found that I could add nothing to warm, heart-felt and eloquent statements of grief and resolve. I'd simply say that even now in the face of this tragedy I'm both jealous and proud of those 7 men and women who rode their dreams to the stars, and got a look at creation that must be simply both awe inspiring and humbling. Not that I know a damn thing, but I'd gladly strap in beside Theo. My best wishes and thanks go to the men and women of NASA, past and present, who work tirelessly to push back the darkness, and let in the light of knowledge.



OK, it's on.

While at the Caps game I had the realization that I just can't handle be fat anymore. When the caps scored it took me two tries to unpry myself from the seat. It was both embarasing and somewhat painful.

I way 275 pounds, and I'm 5 foot, 10 inches tall. The healthy range for that height is between 140 and 174. I'm going to set my goal at 180. This is a LONG term goal, I'm going to try and do this weight loss thing right. Portion control (have you seen me eat?) and trying to get a balanced meal.

I also am going to get more exercise, although how I'm going to reconsile that statement with working my job and taking 9 credits of college, I don't know. Actually I do. I've got a bike, I know my target training heart rate is between 147 and 170. I have a heavy bag, and I'm going to start drills both heavy and schlager.

There are a lot things I want to do. I want to sail on a tall ship, I want to be a white scarf, I want to fight heavy at the war, I want to play more hockey (and not suck), I want to a strong father if I have a child and I want to be able to buy some jeans at a normal store.

When I got home after the game, I thought about all things I wanted to do, and how many of them were limited by my fitness level and my weight. It stuck me that at 28, I was running out of time to get all this straight before my body completely rebelled on me. So it's on. Diet time. Exercise time. Here is my current plan:

Diet sodas only. Some gatorade, preferablly water.
Salad at lunch, low-fat, low-cal dressing. Grilled chicken with salad is ok.
Breakfast bar for breakfast.
Dinner --> concentrate on healthy choice and portion control.
No candy, no donuts, no regular soda.

Some form of exercise everyday:

Monday: Bike, Weights (I'll have to come up with a decent program) Tuesday: Fight (Lots of fighting) Wednesday: Bike, Drill Thursday: Bike, Weights Friday: Drill Saturday: Fight (Event) or Bike, Weights Sunday: Bike, Drill

We'll see how this all works out. I just need to concentrate on getting in shape, and eating better. I'm not going to stress about weight loss for now, if I take care exercise and diet, the weight loss should come.

So this morning, while stopping off at a gas station to grab some water and breakfast bars I saw a sign from God. Now I'm not big on the SFG phenomenon, but sometimes he just isn't subtle. I walk in, and right in front of me is a full display Red Bull. My mind says: "Mmmmmm Red Bull..." But I'm being good so I start to walk by the Red Bull display, but I notice the can's are all the wrong color of blue. This isn't Red Bull. God has given me, in my hour of need:

Red Bull: Sugar Free

10 calories, still all the caffeine you can shake a stick at plus some Niacin, B6, B12 and Paleolithic Acid. No wait, that is Pantothenic Acid. Anyways, so all the Red Bull kick in the pants for 10 calories. Hold on, I'll go get some ice and a cup, and I'll let you know if God has a sense of humor, or if I can actually drink this stuff.

Actually, it doesn't taste too bad. A little bit of a bitter after taste, but at 7 in the morning what doesn't have a bitter after taste?

Anyways, I need all of your help. I know I need to lose weight and increase my fitness level, so anything you guys can do to help keep me be good, or improve my program, I'll gratefully accept. I'm going to try and tuck a little daily record of how things are going at the bottom of each post, just so I can keep track of what I'm doing.


Kynny

previous - next