Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

February 12, 2003 - 11:09

So as I continue my diet / exercise program, I've picked up some gizmos to help me out. In particular, I picked up a watch that recieves my heart rate from a chest sensor I can wear while I'm working out. It's pretty damn nifty, but it has something of an attitude.

I decided that I would wear it fencing last night to see how that phase of my exercise program. The first thing I needed to do was punch in my birthdate, height, weight and current date into the watch. It automatically calcualted my minimum and maximum heart rate. I touched a key at the begining of my first three fights, and then at the end I could review various stats.

So I punch the key before I open up with Lisette, and it beeps at me because I'm below my target heart rate. No biggie, because as soon as I start fighting the beeping goes away. I get done with Lisette, punch the button again and review the workout information.

So here is what I see:

TIME: 29:07

AVG HEART RATE: 140

TIME IN ZONE: 27:44

TOTAL CALORIES BURNED: 547

Well at this point I'm stoked, I had nailed my target heart rate for 27 minutes, which is much better than I do on the stationary bike at home. Then the watch detected that I was pleased so it chose to remind me of this:

BMI: 39.1 OBESESITY

OK. So the BMI (Body Mass Index) is based SOLELY on your height vs. weight ratio. I'm way over for my height, so I am in the Obeseity range. What I'm not sure of is why my watch decides that I need to see that after every workout, because until I update my weight, it will never change.

Anyways. So now my watch is messing with my head, and then I fight Alan. This goes for about 20 minutes, and when I'm done the watch is screaming at me because I exceeded my maximum target heart rate. I tell Alan this, and he takes some outlandish, sadistic pride in it. Then my watch tells me I'm fat again.

Sigh. OK, I had one more fight with Brianna. I had to completely alter my attack pattern, which is great, because it's good to remember that I'm capable of doing that. She gave me a run for my money, and we fought for about 15 minutes.

All said, according to obnoxious bastard trapped in my watch, I burned about 1200 calories fighting last night. That doesn't include my final fight with spring-boy (Connor). If that is even close to being right, then I'm getting a great workout from my fencing.

Anyways. The diet and workouts are going well. I haven't started the weights yet, but I already feel a little more pickup than before. Even if its only in my head, its stil there, and it still works. Thanks to everyone who has been helping, even Shane, who yelled at me last night for eating a (1) french fry.

Kynnyth

previous - next