Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

February 25, 2003 - 08:58

Ouch.

I have come to learn that there is a difference, and an important one, between being in pain and being hurt. This is no big revelation, but it is emphasized by last night's fighter activities. I rolled the big ol' crap dice of doom, and boy did I crap out. Let's review.

Fight one. Fought evil tuchux ogre named Animal. He was a nice enough guy to fight. Fought with two sticks. I managed to block most of the shield side stuff, so being the smart guy he is he beat the hell out of my sword side.

Winner: Shield side.

Fight two. Fought some guy that looked familiar and was left handed. No real reason for him to worry about the shield side, so he beat up my sword side.

Winner: Shield side.

Fight three. Fought this Knight guy Collin. He says "You've been fighting a long time, right?" I say, "Yeah, in rapier." Ohhhh. So we face of and the first three passes are at (what I am estimating to be...) 'I'm a Knight, this is my standard tourney speed'. I became rapidly worried that this was going to be bad. But after that he dialed back to 'Let's not kill the poor little monkey' speed. I did better there, and actually enjoyed the fight a bunch. Oh yeah, he's a lefty, so guess what?

Winner: Shield side. (Now this is only because at some point he strolled around behind me and instead of wacking me in the back, he was nice and tried to punch our my eyeballs from the back of my head. At least that is what it felt like.)

(NOTE) It was at this point that I told Havorc that I felt I had fought enough 'learning' fights, and I was going to find someone who I could actually lay a stick on.

Fight four. New Sir Tosh (Sp?) asks if I'm looking for a fight. Determined not to be a pansy, I say sure. I walk past Havorc and mention "This is not what I meant." Then my opponent, fighting two stick, strikes the "Quisinart of Doom" stance. Now Duke Paul told me about this when I was at Estrella, but actually looking at it made me want to giggle. That desire rapidly left me after the first pass, in which he hit me about 4 times before he heard good. During the third pass he landed a fantastic shot right on the point of my sword-side shoulder and I was done.

Winner: Shield side. (Shield side came away almost untouched)

So, to make a long story slightly longer, I am in pain, but I'm not hurt. So next Monday I'll be back out there. In the meantime, I need to start learning to fight, not just brawl. I need to the form of each of the major shots, and I need to learn to use my feet to keep me out of trouble. So I'm going to bug the shit out of Havorc.

Kynny

p.s. ow

previous - next