Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

February 28, 2003 - 00:01

"James Howell (Master Finnr Grimulfsson) had a heart attack and passed away today."

Finnr is one of my favorite people who I never knew. He shared with me my first uber cool event, Night on Board, where I was introduced to the wonder of mead. It's a long story, but suffice to say that him shouting "NO, YOU SHUT UP!!!" as soon as he saw me brought a smile to my lips.

I am touched at the brevity we have. If I were a better person, if I were closer to whom I want to be, I would be able to incorporate this into my views on the universe. Because although I knew him but briefly, and ever so fleetingly, his mark on me shall remain. So if I were a better person, then I would take this time to draw some of the kindness and raw joy he had, and make it part of me.

As it is, I can simply say that I will try and lengthen my view, try to shorten my temper and try to broaden my horizons, so that I might be to another what Finnr was to me: A small but incredibly important part of my experience here, and a reason for joy, a reason for laughter and now, for the briefest of moments, a reason for grief.

Finnr you never failed to draw a smile from me. I hope that wherever you are, you are safe, and you are well.

A sober, somber Kynnyth

previous - next