Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

March 03, 2003 - 12:58

OK..so Diaryland just ate my entry. Maybe its a sign from God...so I'm going to rework it. Originally I was just writing down thoughts as they came to me, so I'm going to try and make a more structured argument.


I have a growing concern about the perception that the Kingdom may start having about the rapier community, because of the actions and image given out by some of the community. Specifically I'm worried that the rapier community may start to look like an organization that is self-centered and insular. That the rapier community may look like it places itself before the Kingdom, and is made up more of rapier fighters than Atlantians.

This view comes both from ancedotal evidence (See this weekends exchange between Magnus and myself on the Merry Rose), and direct observation. I've had conversations with some people that would probably agree with the assertions made by Magnus' friend. I've seen rapier people fight, unpack, check armor and weaons etc... during court (both when court was on the field, and not on the field). I've seen people bring their gear to events with no rapier fighting in a hope that they could sneak off with their buddies and fight.

There are a growing number of people for whom the SCA is nothing more than a rapier tournament and practices.

It is at this point that I start worrying about what I'm saying. Because I'm sure this is true for other groups in the SCA. So now I'm trying to figure out at what point something is normal, and at what point something is a problem. I think my main concern is that I think there may be people who have gained some recognition engaging in this behavior.

Well. I'm sure I've ruffled some feathers now. The big FS/WS shindig is coming up, and I guess I'll talk to a few people about this. Get a sense if I'm by myself on this, or if some other people are noticing this.

As always with using words like "Community" and "Kingdom" I'm sure in some way I've painted with a broad brush. I'm obviously not saying everyone is like this, but I'm worried that enough of this is going on that the reputation of the Rapier community might suffer.

HMmmm....I hope I haven't stepped over some line here, that I'm not out of my league. But I want to hear what others think and have heard, particularly if you're not in the rapier community.

If you have thought, one way or another, drop me a line in the guestbook or by email.

Thanks,

Kynnyth

previous - next