Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

November 09, 2004 - 10:30

A couple of things today. The first of which some will probably find offensive, so if you're in some liberal, touchy-feely, fantasy-land mood...just skip it today.



I was at work last night at about 7:30, walking to a late-night troubleshooting with the vice-pres of our group. Here is the conversation we had:

Kynny: This job sucks.
John: Nah, you like your job.
K: John, I love my job! Trust me, if I didn't, I sure as shit wouldn't be here right now.
***Pause***
K: You know what this job is?
J: What?
K: This job is like that chick in High School that you dated only because she'd bang you in 15 different ways over the course of the day. That relationship had absolutely no redeeming value whatsoever, but you just couldn't get away from it, because for all the crazy, psycho-bad, there was lots of fun. That is this job.
J: You know, I like that analogy.



I listened to this new program on XM this morning, the Bob Edwards show. This guy interviews various musicians and cuts in different clips of their music.

This morning he had on Cowboy Jack Clement. This guy had two stories I thought were interesting.

The first was the carrot juice story. The statement that caught my ear was this: "The carrot juice song probably precipitated my second divorce from my first wife". The guy made his wife make carrot juice, which apparently is a pain in the ass. This pissed her off. Then he wrote a polka about how much he loved carrot juice. Then she divorced him.

The second was his description of how the horns got into Johnny Cash's Ring of Fire. Apparenly Johnny Cash had a dream of Mariachi (SP?) trumpets in the song, but didn't know how to put them in there. So Cowboy Jack got together a couple of trumpeteers and just hummed at them what he wanted. And voila! I've always wonder what kind of crazy bastard decided to put those horns in there. Some brilliant ideas you say to your self "I could of thought of that!", but some, like mariachi trumpets in Ring of Fire you go "How the hell did he think of that!"



OK, I'm outta here. 'grats to Lisette and her housiness.

K

previous - next