Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

November 17, 2004 - 15:32

Dear Zack,

I've been wasting time at work today looking back at the online diary entries of a very silly man. I attended his funeral today, so he weighs heavily on my mind. One of the things that struck me from his entries was how he spoke of his son. Of how he rembered Michael calling the Christmas tree the christmas Treat, or how he was most proud of his son graduating from high school without being killed by his father.

In one entry he describes his son this way: "Michael is not perfect, but he sure is swell". I'll try to remember, as we go through life, that swell is just great, and perfect isn't going to happen.

In another entry, he states that "foolishness is particularly important to me". This too, I shall try to remember.

One entry I remember from when I read it, (I knew by this point you were on the way):

"When Mel was pregnant, in keeping with my policy of keeping my mental instability always hidden, I would from time to time ask her, "Will the baby like me?" She would say, "You're his father. He'll love you!" I knew that, but I still worried about whether he would like me or not."

I hope you like me, and I hope I like you. But regardless, I'll never stop loving you.

One last thing from this great man. I'll pass along this along from Question 5 of an online survey he took:

"5. If you were asked to give a child a single piece of advice to guide them through life, what would you say?

Be honest with yourself and with others."

I love you.

Your Father

previous - next