Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

June 18, 2005 - 21:26

When Their Majesties called me up, I wasn't certain what they were up to. As Robert began talking rapier, I thought, "well, either I'm getting a Sea Dragon or a White Scarf". When I heard Robert say "...and there's a group of people who would like to talk to you. Call in the order." I dropped my head, and began trying to wrap my brain around what was going on. Now, a week later, I've just about gotten used to thinking of myself as a White Scarf.

I have certainly done my fair share of thinking about the White Scarf, and the ceremony went a lot like I hoped it would. The scroll, which is absoluetly gorgeous, was made by Isobel. I can't express how much I appreciate the time and talent that went into the scroll. My wife, thankfully, wonderfully, was at my side, holding my hand. When His Majesty asked "Is there a scarf?" My head was still bowed. When I heard Master Robert's voice say "There is, your Majesty." Susan felt my hand tighten. The scarf was not just Robert's scarf, but one of the original White Scarfs that were handed out by the Queen on the occasion of the creation of the order. I'm stunned, humbled and very proud that he considerd me worthy enough to recieve that scarf.

Tuesday, fighter practice. I was very concerned that I would stink up the joint. As it was, I fought well. Including a very enjoyable fight with Sir Vlad. I'm not sure if its just in my mind or not, but people seemed much more eager in their approach to me. I had to stay on my toes.

Anyways, much of my thought process over the last week has been about people who have helped me so far in my journey. Some of them, like Penny and Jack, aren't around much any more. Others, like Robert, Laura, Alan and Marcellus seem like there there whenever I need them. Then there's the newer breed, that keep me sharp, keep me thinking. Alyce, Kenji, Brian, Kat (all of Kat's friends, including the latest, meanest Laura) and of course Freddy. Each have helped develop my approach, my attitude and my fighting. I spent a lot of time thinking about, and thanking, each of them.

My wife. Bless her, bless her, bless her. She stays home a lot with our boy, while I go off to fight or talk about fighting. She makes sure that my garb is good, and is always there when I need her. She listens to me rant. She is wonderful. Alan let me know that he had wanted to do something a little more elaborate, but with my kid sick, they knew that we might have to leave early, so they moved up the ceremony. I told Alan, in all honesty, "As long as Susan was there, nothing else really mattered." I have a picture of court, with her by my side, holding my hand. It is my absolute favorite picture right now.

So that's what's been going on in my head. I'd just like to say thanks to everyone one more time. I'll shut up now.

Kynny

previous - next