Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

Monday, July 23, 2001 -

I'm not the happy-go-lucky carefree monkey of days gone past. No, no! Don't those who saw me kiss Good King Amalric's ass decry me, nor those who saw me light my arm on fire at Pennsic past, not even those who venture weekly down the path of lost cause can deny this. Why ask you?

I enjoyed a wedding. I'm turning into an old decrepit likes-weddings monkey. This wasn't just any wedding, of course. This was Miss Louisiana Mumble mumble 1999 or something's wedding. This was a royal wedding....in short this was MENGton's wedding!

It helps that all my good friends were there, and it really helped that Keigan was lightening the mood with his best mobster imitation. But I can't even over emphasize the whole friends were there and had a good time thing. It was just a really cool wedding. They had it in the Fairfax court house, and that was cool. They had a string quartet (including a red head with a cello). Now this would have been devastatingly cool...except the cello-chick wore pants. Now look...ladies...if you're going to do the coolest thing you can in music, and play a big piece of wood between you legs, at least have the decency to wear a long black dress! Pants are horrible! It ruins everything....what kinda fantasy is that? That's like nurses wearing scrubs instead of those cute little (and I mean little) white nursey outfits! But anyways...even this could not deter me from having a good time.

Being wise, MENGton and Halfton had relegated their friends into the gallery, and only allowed family to be within striking distance. This left me with no choice but to play with the camera. You know, I was always told there is a tactical advantage to being above your targets. Never has this been more true. I had the perfect angle for the 'innocent cleavage' shot. This means that I can justify the shot, because I was told to take pictures, but I just couldn't help but get great cleavage shots by the simple nature of my angle to my subjects.

Now, of course, this went out the window once I leaned over the railing and took photos straight down as the bridesmaids walked by. Now, MENGton has a wonderfully attractive cousin. But at that point I didn't know her age, and didn't want to create any 'evidence'. So I didn't take the picture. Imagine my horror later on when I learned that she was 18. Oh.....life is full of wasted opportunities....

Anyways, the wedding itself was short. Wonderfully short, they got married, and we got to go to the open bar. Let it never be said that MENGton doesn't know how to throw a party. There was free food, and free drinks, and that string quartet again with that silly woman (who by the way really, really doesn't need a head). It was a good time, and it was all about two people coming together for a lifetime of love.

*DANGER -- SENTIMENTAL MONKEY TIME*

Seriously, for those who know these MENG and Halfton, this is truly a story-book ending, or beginning. Halfton is a wonderful person, and I'm glad I've gotten to know him over the course of the last couple of years. He is quick with a smile and slow to anger and utterly and completely in love with MENG.

MENG is the image of beauty and grace. Now normally, I don't go for this. But she also knows how to get down in the gutter and have a good time with the rest of us. I can't wait till they move into their new home so we can have our soundman and lost pirate singer closer to us. Of course I wish them both the best, but they don't need my good wishes. They have everything they need to live a long and happy life. I'm just glad I'm able to enjoy some small part of it.

********************************************

OK, enough of that. I got to get back to work, after I dry my eyes.

BEWARE THE MOCs

I'm out

previous - next