Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Sign My Guestbook!

2002-09-09 - 8:15 p.m.

Even with the snow falling, the day is bright. I'm leaning against a tree, I can feel the bark pressing into my shoulder. The forest is silent, sound fleeing from the snow. The small stream I'm watching fights that. A canyon through the crisp white cover, it trips and dances over the rocks in its bed. A merry sound that reminds me of playing children follows the creek along its route.

It's a fair way from the house, enough to let me believe its just me, the creek, the snow and one sturdy tree to save my feet. It's a melancholy happiness that I'm toying with. I revel in the scene, but can never escape the sadness, the reality that I know soon I'll have to leave.

I sigh, and watch as the icy air gives life to my breath. It curls in upon itself, enjoying the brief existence it has before its gone. I smile as I play evil dragon, and then wonder briefly why I can't make rings with my breath.

Something tugs at me..."Damn it" I think...

I pick up the phone. "This is Matt, can I help you?"

previous - next